Why did I become a Virtual PA?

28 04 2008

I often get asked why I became a Virtual Assistant. I’d spent over 20 years working as a PA (Personal Assistant) to  various  Directors, and probably  a third of that time in my car travelling to and from work, dropping off my girls at the different places they had to go, nursery, childminder, hitting all the school runs on the way to work, then same again back home, frequently getting back home around 7pm. I loved my job, but hated the journey and how tired it made me, and that I hardly had any quality time with my girls, let alone me. A good chunk of my salary went on childcare. I really wanted work that was much closer to home without dropping my income, was as fulfilling, and, be able to pick up my girls from school and have dinner at 6pm not 8pm. I read in various PA magazines about virtual assistants and that seemed to fit in with the lifestyle that I wanted. I did my due diligence, called a few VA’s to check how they were doing, and more importantly, did it pay, how soon was it before they started to get clients and earn money. So, then an opportunity arose, that usually most people would think of as a major stress causing catastrophe…. Redundancy!

Redundancy was the best thing to happen to me! I left with a nice lump sum that helped me get set up. I enrolled on a VA Mastery course with Carmen McDougall, NLP Life Coach and VA Guru. Carmen passed on all her VA knowledge about how to set up and get good clients and keep them happy. She got me to think of a vision and work out how to get there in the form of a plan, which was not just a business plan but a included my personal life goals too.

Two years have passed since I finished my course with Carmen, and I haven’t looked back. I have a core of great clients and a fabulous team of associates who help me keep them in order. I have a studio office in my garden where I work from, I do the school run and we have dinner at 6pm. And best of all, my net income is similar to what I had as a full-time employee. The other spin-off I wasn’t expecting, is the network of supportive business contacts I’ve come to know through The Athena Network and really regard many of them as friends, not just business contacts.

At the VA Conference in Milton Keynes, I learned that I was of many VA’s who also regarded setting up as a Virtual Assistant as the best thing they did.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

